Today was actually a really good day.

We started our morning with an hour of Sofia the First (Monkey’s favorite show at the moment) while I got us ready to go to the zoo. Some mornings she can be really needy and it can be tough to get things done. Today she was mostly independent and sat at the table, contentedly eating some Fruit Loops and watching tv. She even got herself to the potty in time!

The only hiccup was the drama around putting on shoes.

For some reason, about 50% of the time, she gets tripped up with her shoes. She knows how to put them on. She’s been able to do it by herself for probably close to a year now. But for some reason, me saying “okay, put your shoes on so we can go” makes her just plain flip. She refuses, she goes to hide in her room, and sometimes I actually have to carry her out to the car sans shoes.

So. Anyway. I felt so proud of myself this morning. I packed the diaper bag last night, I even made sandwiches and had snacks packed for the day. I was so put together. Naturally, today was one of those shoe days. We got to the zoo a full 20 minutes later than planned.

Zoo was good. It drizzled a little which wasn’t a big deal. Walked a lot. The lion was actually awake, so that was neat. Saw a week old baby baboon. After we were done, I went to my parents.

I am really fortunate that I live near my parents, and I have a good relationship with my parents, and my parents are able to help out a lot. They actually watch my kids when I work.

After 2 weeks of spring break with basically zero time away from my wonderful kiddos, I needed a spring break from my spring break. My parents watched the kiddos while I went home and did some cleaning.

Yep. I used my child-free time to clean.

I washed dishes, cleaned underneath the dish drying rack, cleaned the sink, folded several loads of laundry, ran another two loads of laundry, and started cleaning the master bedroom when apparently Bear got fussy, so I went back over there.

Monkey has been diaper free and accident free today, which is awesome! She just hasn’t actually gone to the bathroom at all while we’ve been on outings, which on the one hand has been convenient, but on the other hand, can’t be great for her urinary tract…

All in all, it was a pretty good day. We got to spend time with friends and family, and I was moderately productive, and now I’m looking forward to crawling into bed.

Night,

B-Minus Mom

Leave a comment