One of my biggest struggles is my work-life balance.

Basically, I feel like the balance doesnt exist.

Instead, I have a work-life pendulum. It swings back and forth, back and forth. And it never seems to pause in the middle.

I’ve been on spring break for two weeks, and today I went back to work. My spring break was great. I spent a lot of time with my kiddos (and I think it is safe to say that Monkey is potty trained) and I also did a lot of housework. I feel like my house is the neatest it has been since we moved in 3 years ago. I’ve been working on establishing good housekeeping habits – laundry every day so it doesn’t pile up, putting away the dishes regularly, sweeping the floors, etc. It has been baby steps but it has made a difference.

Meanwhile, I got chewed out by a coworker today for not having our lessons for enrichment finished. My classroom is a mess, despite the fact that it has been uninhabited for two weeks. I don’t have my lessons written for the rest of the week. And my patience with my students today was non-existent.

That’s the pendulum. Or see-saw. Or other consistently unbalanced thing. When I have my home life under control, my work life is a mess. When I’m on track at work, I feel like my kids and husband and house are neglected.

I have 8 weeks left of the school year to work on this balancing act. And I guarantee you that I will figure it out in 7 weeks. Just in time to go on summer break and get thrown off-kilter all over again.

Sorry if I sound complainy. Today was a stressful day.

Thanks for reading.

B

Leave a comment