Hi.

I’m writing this to myself, and to you, to share my daily experience as what I consider to be a perfectly average parent.

There are a lot of mommy bloggers out there who show off their clean houses and perfectly presentable dinners and their professional-status birthday parties.

I aspire to that stuff. But I’m not there. Most days, I don’t think I’m even close.

So, about me. I am a 27 year old working mom of two. Monkey is 2 years and 8 months old, and Bear is 7 months. My husband is a really incredible guy who, after 11 years together and 3.5 years of marriage, I still can’t believe I’m lucky enough to have him.

I have depression. I’ve had it most of my life, but I was diagnosed with it back in 2014. I take medication for it which keeps it under control most of the time… but some days are better than others.

I’m an elementary school teacher and I love love love my job. I feel like a lot of mommy bloggers do not work outside the home (which I am very well aware is not the same as not working – I work because working keeps me sane! I find it too hard to stay home full time with my kids) so I feel like being a full time working mom gives me a different perspective and a different experience from others.

Anyway, I’m writing this to share the ups and downs, and what my world looks like on a day to day basis. (Spoiler alert – there’s a lot of laundry and a lot of screen time.) Will anyone read this but me? I have no idea. If you do, I hope it makes you feel a little less alone and a little more normal.

Thanks for reading.

-B Minus Mom

Leave a comment